Rays Win AL East Title for 3rd Time in Franchise History

The Rays’ win against the Mets last night ended with some extra celebration as the Tampa boys clinched the AL East title with 3 games left to play in this sprint of a season. The Rays have won 7 of their last 10 and are currently 37-20 on the season. The Yankees made a bid to close in on the Rays division lead, but they came up just short. The Bronx Bombers went on a 10-game winning streak starting on the 9th of September and they scored a combined 78 runs in that span. They recently lost 3 out of their last 4 games to help the Rays solidify the AL East crown. The Rays have now earned the title, “Beast of the East” for the time being especially after taking 8 out of 10 against their NY rival.

The last time the Rays won the AL East title was 10 years ago in 2010. They finished with a record of 96-66 and just one game ahead of the Yankees. Since that year, the Red Sox have won the division 4 times, the Yankees have won it 3 times, and the Orioles and Blue Jays have won it once each. Despite the craziness of 2020, it’s always an honor to win a division title in one of the best divisions in the MLB (and don’t let a Yankees fan tell you otherwise).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s